"Invalid content for CNAME record" with valid content

Need help? Ask here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
candrews
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:50 am
Contact:

"Invalid content for CNAME record" with valid content

Post by candrews » Tue Jan 06, 2015 8:29 am

I'm trying to add a CNAME record. The content I'm attempting to use is "wyt3gnnohbbpmxpp.onion" which seems valid to me. But, when I submit the form, I get this error:
"Invalid content for CNAME record. Please try again."

It seems that the form is incorrectly validating the content - can you please take a look?

Thanks!

Seth
Site Admin
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:44 pm
Location: Nevada
Contact:

Re: "Invalid content for CNAME record" with valid content

Post by Seth » Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:55 am

It's failing because the CNAME value is run through a validation function where part of what it looks at is the IANA TLD list:

http://data.iana.org/TLD/tlds-alpha-by-domain.txt
(We also allow "test" and "arpa" and "local")

The test is not specific to CNAMEs, the class that contains the domain validation function is used by any input that accepts things that are formatted like fully qualified DNS names. I don't suppose it would be a problem to add an alternate mode flag to skip the IANA TLD list. I presume you have some kind of local resolver thing that uses a globally invalid TLD?
Seth Mattinen, Roller Network LLC

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest