Faulty Switch (wasn't really faulty after all)

Historical archive of system events. These events are posted for reference purposes only.

Faulty Switch (wasn't really faulty after all)

Postby RollerNetSupport » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:56 am

We had an HP 2510-24 switch in the internal DNS cache pool go faulty on us. We've replaced it with a spare.
Last edited by RollerNetSupport on Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:22 am, edited 2 times in total.
Technical Support support@rollernet.us
Roller Network LLC
RollerNetSupport
Site Admin
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Nevada

Postby RollerNetSupport » Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:23 am

We have the switch on the test bench and it appears to be stuck in a loop. It's not responding to the procedure to get to its equivalent of a rommon prompt. It makes it half way through POST and reboots itself. We'll give HP a call in the morning and see what they say since we're good for tonight on the spare.
Technical Support support@rollernet.us
Roller Network LLC
RollerNetSupport
Site Admin
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Nevada

Postby RollerNetSupport » Thu Aug 20, 2009 5:57 pm

We were able to figure out that it's an issue loading the config. It will boot with a factory reset, but once we input our config (even manually) the switch gets stuck in a reboot loop. HP is sending a replacement overnight. When we replace the switch there will be a brief (less than a minute) outage during the cable swap.
Technical Support support@rollernet.us
Roller Network LLC
RollerNetSupport
Site Admin
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Nevada

Postby RollerNetSupport » Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:21 am

The final analysis reveals that it was not faulty hardware, rather it was a configuration error.

The HP command line interface allows arbitrary length SNMP community strings to be entered. However, we are predominately a Cisco network, and we used many of the same settings on this HP switch. It turns out that the problem is that the HP switch will only boot if community strings are 16 characters or less. It will happily accept (and function) with longer SNMP community strings input via the command line as we do on our Cisco equipment, but it will get stuck in an initialization loop if it ever reboots.
Technical Support support@rollernet.us
Roller Network LLC
RollerNetSupport
Site Admin
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Nevada


Return to System Status Archives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron